top of page
Conference Seating

Aging Committees

Senior Tar Heel Legislature


Established to:


  • Provides information to senior citizens on the legislative process and matters being considered by the North Carolina General Assembly.


  • Promotes citizen involvement and advocacy concerning aging issues before the North Carolina General Assembly.


  • Assess the legislative needs of older citizens by convening a forum modeled after the North Carolina General Assembly.


There is one (1) delegate to the Senior Tar Heel Legislature from each of the 100 counties in the state and most of the counties have an alternate delegate.  Delegates must be age 60 or better.


The North Carolina Division of Aging and Adult Services provide staff support for the Senior Tar Heel Legislature in cooperation with the 16 Area Agencies on Aging who are responsible for the selection of delegates and alternates.


Since the inception of the Senior Tar Heel Legislature, delegates and alternates to the Senior Legislature have undertaken a variety of activities in their counties to help inform and educate older citizens on matters before the General Assembly and to hear from people regarding their needs. 


Currently, the Senior Tar Heel Legislature meets three (3) times a year, usually in the Triangle Area, to study issues, to hear from key resource persons and state officials, and to develop recommendations to present to the N.C. General Assembly.


The Senior Tar Heel Legislature submits three (3) to five (5) priority recommendations to the General Assembly each legislative session.  With few exceptions, the General Assembly has taken positive action, in some form or fashion, on these recommendations.


See below for  the Senior Tar Heel Delegate for your county. 

Senior Tar Heel Legislative
Delegates and Alternates

COUNTY                DELEGATES            ALTERNATES

Bladen County                               Dr. Delilah B. Blanks                      Jean Q. Lloyd


Hoke County                                  Pat Graham **                                 Thomas Squier **    


Richmond County                          Vacant                                             Vacant                                                     

Robeson County                            Dr. Earlena C. Lowry**                   Betty Rising**         


Scotland County                            H. Whitehurst**                               Vacant

Region N Aging Advisory Council (RAAC)


Each of the “AAA’s” has a regional board of advisors that assist the staff in making sure that the objectives of the programs are met.  The Advisory Council is composed of (6) members from each county.  They meet quarterly to help the staff monitor service dollars that are spent in the region. They assist with the development of the Aging Services Plan every (4) years and serve as consultants to local aging boards as needed.




Bladen County                      G. Michael Cogdell  


                                                 Erin K. Hinson  


                                                 Virginia W. Gause                   


                                                 Jean Lloyd                  


                                                 Larry Martin                             


                                                 Louella Thompson                     




Hoke County                        Stella Edens


                                                Agree Jackson                   


                                                Dr. Mary Kemp Thomas          


                                                Della Maynor (Chair)

                                                Linda Revels


                                                Thomas Squier*                        



Richmond County                Maria Council


                                                Mary Magee                      


                                                Theresa Mercer            


                                                Barbara Unger                             


                                                Millie Wright                    




Robeson County                  Dorothy Blue                                         

                                                Ghee Blain Johnson  


                                                Betty Rising (Vice Chair)


                                                Jean Love


                                                Frederia Stephens                      


                                                Dr. Earlena Lowry



Scotland County                  June Harrell                     


                                               Joe Jones                        


                                               William Matthews   


                                               Sheila Swift                


                                               Rev. Dr. Howard H. Whitehurst* 



bottom of page